About Our Awards

The mission of the PWC CT’s Awards Committee is to encourage A/E/C professionals to recognize the success, professionalism and career growth of their colleagues. We believe that hard work and dedication to our Chapter and the industry should be acknowledged and promoted. Every year we are proud to honor at least 4 individuals with the following awards: Women of Achievement, Rising Star, Excellence in Mentoring and Chapter Volunteer of the Year. We invite you to continue reading and learn more about our awards program.

Why make a nomination?

Show her you recognize the contribution she makes in her organization/sector.

• Celebrate her achievements.
• Support her to advance her career through enhanced media coverage.
• Raise awareness of her contributions to a wider audience.
• Enable her to access personal development opportunities.
• Give her additional access to networking and collaboration opportunities across the professions.
• Promote her employer’s brand.

About the Woman of Achievement Award

The “Woman of Achievement” award is given annually to a candidate who has at least 15 years of experience in the industry, has demonstrably achieved excellence in her field, is dedicated to the advancement of women in the A/E/C field, and serves as a good role model.

2021 Woman of Achievement Honoree

Cathie Ellithorpe

Principal | The S/L/A/M Collaborative

Past Recipients of About the Woman of Achievement Award
Laura Cruickshank, FAIA | UConn 2020
Melissa Sheffy | Network Interiors, Inc. 2019
About the Rising Star Award

The “Rising Star” award is intended to honor exceptional women in the A/E/C industry who are recognized by their colleagues, mentors and peers as future leaders in the industry. The focus is on women who are identified as “rising stars” as opposed to women who have already achieved success or reached the apex of their careers. The honorees are women who are directly responsible for architecture, engineering and/or construction and who will someday take their place among the construction chiefs in our region. The “Rising Star” award is given annually to a candidate who has less than 7 years’ experience in the industry, and demonstrates — through her dedication, her work and her attitude — the capacity to attain the highest levels in her field.

2021 Rising Star Honoree

Jackie Quesada, LEED AP

National Healthcare Industry Coordinator| Whiting-Turner

Past Recipients of About the Rising Star Award
Kyma Ganzer | LaRosa Building Co. 2020
Christine Longo | Whiting Turner Construciton 2019
About the Excellence in Mentoring Award

Mentorship is one of the most important leadership roles in the A/E/C industry. However, mentors are frequently overlooked and rarely rewarded. The Excellence in Mentoring Award was created to acknowledge an outstanding man or woman who has been a positive role model for women in our industry. Mentors from any industry discipline (architecture, engineering, construction, industry teachers, lawyers and industry marketing professionals) are eligible for this award.

The “Excellence in Mentoring” award is given annually to a woman or man who has been a positive role model for women in the A/E/C industry, has sustained a career commitment to mentoring and has had a positive effect on mentees.

2021 Excellence in Mentoring Honoree

Taylor Gladding

Project Manager | Gilbane Building Co.

Past Recipients of About the Excellence in Mentoring Award
Tracy Caisse | The S/L/A/M Collaborative 2020
Laurann Asklof | Shipman and Goodwin 2019
About the Volunteer of the Year Award

Volunteers are the cornerstone of our organization and are vital to our success now and in the future. The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding volunteers for their valuable and selfless commitment to innovation, dedication, contribution to the success of this chapter and our industry as a whole.

2021 Volunteer of the Year Honoree

Roxanne Perugino, LEED AP ID & C

Sr. Project Planner | STV | DPM

Past Recipients of About the Volunteer of the Year Award
Carolyn Kurth, CPA, CFE | CohnReznick 2020
Susan Labas, CPSM | vanZelm Engineers 2020

Questions about our awards program?

Contact the Committee Chair:

Kim Colapietro | EDI Landscape

Committee Members:

Patty Bilotto | van Zelm Engineers
Ruth Durcharme | Shawmut
Betty Horne | Red Thread
Dawn Meeker | Marcum, LLP

PWC is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1980. Contributions are tax deductible.

Website created by circle S studio